Honors and Awards

  • Atlanta Writers Club names annual fiction award the Terry Kay Prize for Fiction, 2015
  • Best Friend of Georgia Libraries Award, 2012
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Georgia Writers Association, 2011
  • Recipient of the Governor's Award in the Humanities (GA), 2009
  • Inducted in Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, 2006
  • Recipient of the Stanley W. Lindberg Award, 2007, for outstanding contribution to the literary heritage of Georgia
  • Recipient of the Townsend Award, 2004, for The Valley of Light
  • Recipient of the Brooke Baker Award, Dunwoody (GA) Public Library, 2007
  • Recipient of the Appalachian Heritage Writer's Award from Shepherd University (WV), 2006
  • Four times Author of the Year by the Georgia Writers Association: 1982 for After Eli, 2004 for The Valley of Light, 2008 for The Book of Marie, 2012 for The Greats of Cuttercane (Short Stories Category)
  • Awarded honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, LaGrange College, 1999
  • Awarded honorary Doctor of Literature, Mercer University, 2002
  • Honorary member of Phi Theta Kappa, honor society from Young Harris College
  • Honorary member of Phi Kappa Phi, honor society from University of Georgia
  • Named by Georgia Trend magazine as one of Georgia's most Powerful and Influential People, 1995, 2001 and 2013
  • Member, Advisory Council, Byron Herbert Reece Society

Terry Kay Prize for Fiction Award

The Atlanta Writers Club (AWC) has announced its annual award for fiction has been named the Terry Kay Prize for Fiction in honor of Georgia Hall of Fame writer, Terry Kay. The first award in Kay's name was presented at AWC's September meeting in Atlanta to Portia Tewogbade for her story, "The Lovers."

Founded in 1914, the AWC now numbers hundreds of members who have a passion for writing in all genres of creative expression.  For additional information on The Atlanta Writers Club, link to www.atlantawritersclub.org